One of three federal territories in Malaysia, Labuan is located 8 km off the Borneo coast in East Malaysia. Its name is derived from the Malay word “pelabuhan”, which translates to “port”.

Labuan is made up of the main Labuan Island and 6 smaller islands, forming a combined area of approximately 92 square kilometers. The population of Labuan is approximately 87,000 people (2010), of which 76% are Muslims, 12% Christians and 9% Buddhists. The main languages are Malay and English, and also certain indigenous dialects.

The islands experience a tropical climate and is mostly hot and humid, with temperatures ranging between 24°C to 34°C. The weather gets wet towards year-ends.

Labuan International Business and Financial Center (IBFC) was established in October 1990, making it Malaysia’s only offshore financial center.

Best Time to visit Labuan
Any time is a good time to visit Labuan because there is no real monsoon season and it’s free from hurricanes and typhoons. However, it is best to avoid the rainy season during year-ends. The island can also get quite busy during the local school holidays (see the list of Malaysia Public Holidays 2016.

Sponsored Ad:

Online Shopping